Interior Secretary Manuel Roxas III (MNS Photo)

Interior Secretary Manuel Roxas III (MNS Photo)

MANILA  (Mabuhay) – Twenty-two more cities Monday received their Austria-made Rosenbauer fire trucks from the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), bringing to 76 the total number of highly-urbanized cities that are now equipped with world-class fire-fighting equipment.

DILG Secretary Mar Roxas said the Rosenbauer fire trucks, dubbed as the Mercedes Benz of fire-fighting vehicles, were acquired at a cost lower than the locally-assembled fire trucks that were procured by the previous administration.

“Pagpapatunay ito na possibleng magkaroon ng world-class na fire trucks ang mga local government units natin nang hindi gumagastos ang gobyerno nang sobra-sobra,” Roxas said during the kick-off ceremony of the Fire Prevention Month in Quezon City.

Isa ito sa mga programa na nagpapakita na may magandang resulta ang pagpapatupad ng Daang Matuwid sa pamamahala. Patunay din ito na mas maraming benepisyo ang naibibigay sa mamamayan kung matatangal ang katiwalian sa pamahalaan,” he added.

The Rosenbauer fire trucks acquired by DILG are equipped with water cannons that can fire to a least 62 meters distance horizontally and 24 meters vertically or equivalent to an 8-storey building.

According to Roxas, the 76 brand new Rosenbauer fire trucks were acquired thru the credit facility granted by the Austrian government which has a grant element of 60 percent at a concessional rate of 1 percent per annum.

The trucks were financed by an Official Development Assistance (ODA) from the Austrian government with a repayment term of 14 years with 3 ½ years grace period in the amount of EU20,493,740.

The original Rosenbauer project costs P1.3-billion, which was computed then at an exchange rate of P65 per US. The amount of P532,837,240 or 40 percent represents loan amount while 60 percent of it represents the grant element.

“If computed at present value, the unit cost per Rosenbauer fire truck is more or less P7-million. This is far cheaper than the locally-assembled fire trucks which the past DILG administration procured at between P8 to P9.9 million per unit,” Roxas disclosed.

“He noted that the procurement of world-class fire-fighting equipment is part of the modernization program being implemented by the Aquino administration for the Bureau of Fire Prevention (BFP).

During the BFP ceremony, Roxas called on the fire bureau to expand the scope of its information and education campaign on fire prevention to include training exercises on disaster preparedness and response.

The DILG chief also asked the BFP to find ways on how to expedite the process of applying for Fire Clearances, which are required for Building Permits, without sacrificing the strict implementation of the Fire Code.Clearance para sa Building Permit,” he added.

Chief Superintendent Carlito Romero, BFP officer-in-charge, reported to Roxas that the 76 brand new Rosenbauer fire trucks are now available in the following areas: Las Piñas City F/S NCR; Parañaque City F/S NCR; Malabon City F/S NCR; Pasay City F/S NCR; San Juan City F/S NCR; Mandaluyong City F/S NCR; Quezon City F/S NCR; Manila City F/S – NCR; Caloocan City F/S NCR; Taguig City F/S NCR; Pasig City F/S NCR; Antipolo City F/S R4-A; Meycauyan City F/S R3; San Jose Del Monte City F/S R3; Calamba City F/S R4-A; Tanauan City F/S R4-A; Batangas City F/S R4-A; Baguio City F/S CAR; Lipa City F/S R4-A; Angeles City F/S R3; Cebu City F/S R7; Mandaue City F/S R7; Lapu-Lapu City F/S R7; Talisay City F/S R7; Tanjay City F/S R7; Bayawan City F/S R7; Bacolod City F/S R6; Iloilo City F/S; Baybay City F/S; Zamboanga City F/S; Dapitan City F/S; Pagadian City F/S; Davao City; Digos City F/S; Tagum City; and Kidapawan City F/S.

The other recipient cities include Cotabato City F/S; Gen Santos City F/S; Valenzuela City F/S; Muntinlupa City F/S; Marikina City F/S; Navotas City F/S; Makati City F/S; San Pablo City F/S; Tagaytay City F/S; Lucena City F/S; Naga City F/S; Malolos City F/S; San Fernando City F/S Pampanga; San Fernando City F/S; La Union; Kabankalan City F/S; Borongan City F/S; Valencia City F/S; Malaybalay City F/S; Iligan City F/S; Cagayan De Oro City F/S; Panabo City F/S; Mati City F/S; Koronadal City F/S; Lamitan City F/S; Marawi City F/S; Butuan City F/S; Tuguegarao City F/S; Santiago City F/S; Cauayan City F/S; San Jose City F/S; Tarlac City F/S; Olongapo City F/S; Trece Martires City F/S; Calapan City F/S; Legazpi City F/S; City of Sorsogon F/S; Tabuk City F/S; Roxas City F/S; Passi City F/S and Bais City F/S. (MNS)