Court of Appeals  (

Court of Appeals

MANILA, Jan 26 (Mabuhay) – President Benigno S. Aquino III has appointed 24 new judges in the provinces of Capiz, Leyte, Samar, Guimaras, Mountain Province, Cebu, Bohol and Negros Oriental.

This was contained in a one-page transmittal letter sent by Executive Secretary Paquino N. Ochoa, Jr. to Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P. Aranal Sereno on Jan. 14, 2015 and made public on Monday.

“I am pleased to transmit herewith the appointment letters of the following signed by His Excellency, President Benigno S. Aquino III,” the transmittal letter signed by Ochoa said.

The new Judges are the son of Court of Appeals (CA) Associate Justice Manuel Barrios in the person of Judge Manuel Isidro Rosauro Antonio V. Barrios for Municipal Trial Circuit Court (MTCC) Branch 4 of Roxas City, Capiz and Judge Bonifacia Carmen Chuchi Asis Ramos of MTCC Branch 3 of the same province.

Also appointed was former Comelec Director Ferdinand T. Rafanan as the new Judge of the Mandaue City, Cebu Regional Trial Court (RTC) Branch 55.

Other appointees are Judge Leonito S. Sabandal of RTC Branch 9, Tacloban City, Leyte; Judge Ernesto L. Penaflor of RTC Branch 32, Calbayog City, Samar and Judge Jacinto B. Elle of RTC Branch 26, San Juan Southern Leyte.

Also for the RTC are Judges Rosario Abigail M. Dris-Villanueva of Branch 65, Jordan Guimaras; Ricky Jones S. Macabaya of RTC Branch 5, Cebu City; Jose Nathaniel S. Andal of Branch 24, Cebu City; Lindecita Cabaron Arcamo of Branch 1, Tagbiliran City, Bohol; Jorge D. Cabalit of Branch 48, Tagbilaran City, Bohol and Emerenciana Orquian Manook of Branch 23, Allen, Northern Samar.

Other first level court judges are Manasseh S. Bastes of MTCC Branch 2, Tacloban City, Leyte; Renato Noel C. Echague of MTCC, Borongan City, Eastern Samar; Alejo A. Calvo of MTC, Palapag, Northern Samar; Ulysses G. Loverita of the 6th MCTC, San Jose Biri-Rosario, Northen Samar; Lorna P. Obus-Pades of the 10th MCTC, Merida-Isabel, Leyte; Mayumi M. Gorme-Amora of the 7th MCTC, Pintuyan-San Ricardo, Southern Leyte; Donna Marie M. Gorme-Amora of the 1st MCTC Barlig-Sadanga, Mt. Province; Gaslito A. Dumpayan of the 4th MCTC, Natonin-Paracelis. Mt. Province and Dinah B. Tabada-Chu of Branch 1, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental.

Also for the MTCC Judges in Cebu City are Dakila Dante U. Barcenas of Branch 2; Yvonne Cabaron Artiaga of Branch 3 and Grace Veloso-Fernandez of Branch 8.

The appointees were screened by the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) prior to their appointments.

The JBC is constitutionally mandated to screen and vet nominees to the Office of the President (OP) for vacant posts in the Judiciary and the Office of the Ombudsman (Ombudsman).

It is chaired by Chief Justice Sereno, with two ex-officio members, namely Senator Aquilino Pimentel III and Justice Secretary Leila M. De Lima.

The regular members of the JBC are retired SC Associate Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez is the head of the Executive Committee and represents the Retired SC Justice Sector; Atty. Jose V. Mejia representing the Academe, retired CA Associate Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman representing the private sector and Atty. Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP). (MNS)