By Jean Malanum

CHESS TOURNEY. Participants and organizers of the Rotary International District 3820 Open Rapid chess tournament which ended at SM City in Santo Tomas, Batangas on Saturday (June 8, 2024). From left are Dr. Fred Paez (Rotary Club of Nuvali), Evans Frivaldo (Rotary Club of Cavinti), Andi Cullano (Rotary Club of Pagsanjan), IM Michael Concio Jr. (2nd place), Kevin Arquero (champion), Sherwin Tiu (3rd place), Ching Amante (Rotary Club of San Pablo Central), DDG Jay Estrellado and Bren Sasot (Rotary Club of Nuvali). (Contributed photo)

MANILA – Kevin Arquero ruled the 1st Rotary International District 3820 Open Rapid chess tournament at SM City in Santo Tomas, Batangas on Saturday.

The member of the Dasma Cavite Spartans in the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) received PHP15,000 in cash and a trophy after scoring 6.5 points in the seven-round Swiss system competition.

Arquero prevailed over George Agsamosam of Batangas (Round 1), AFM Albert Pasno of Tagaytay City, Cavite (Round 2), Daren Dela Cruz of Silang, Cavite (Round 3), Chester Agsamosam of Batangas (Round 4), GM Darwin Laylo of Lipa City, Batangas (Round 5) and Rafael Dionisio of Manila (Round 7). He settled for a draw with Sherwin Tiu of Manila in the sixth round.

“I am very happy with my victory. I would like to thank the Philippine Army chess team for supporting my participation in this tournament,” Arquero said.

IM Michael Concio Jr. (Dasmariñas City, Cavite), Tiu and AIM Jeffrey Romera (Tagaytay City) placed second to fourth place with 6.0 points each.

Laylo was fifth with 5.5 points followed by IM Jose Efren Bagamasbad (5.5 points), Manolo Puertellano (5.5 points), Dela Cruz (5.0 points), Rigor Pedernal of Lucena City, Quezon (5.0 points) and AGM Aaron Kimuel Lorenzo of Calamba City, Laguna (5.0 points).

The category winners were Leonard Raymond Reyes (executive), Danilo Reyes (senior), Richard Haiden Alarma (junior), Justin Jed Ortillo (kiddie), Chesca Largo (lady), Remark Bartolome (2000 and below), Doodee Libongcogon (1900 and below), Joselito Puyo (1800 and below), Michael Joseph Uy (unrated) and Federico Nallada (Batangas).

The proceeds of the event will be donated to the End Polio Society. (PNA)