Jericho Rosales (MNS Photo)

Jericho Rosales (MNS Photo)

MANILA  (Mabuhay) — AFTER the success of their films in the international arena, actors Jericho Rosales and Nora Aunor received the top acting trophies at the 36th Gawad Urian held at the NBC Tent in Taguig City.

Rosales won the Best Actor award for his movie “Alagwa” while Aunor for “Thy Womb”.

Directed by Ian Lorenzo, “Alagwa” recently won at the New Port Beach Film Festival. Brillante Mendoza’s “Thy Womb” also competed in the Venice Film Festival, and bagged a number of awards at the 2012 Metro Manila Film Festival.

Aunor said it was an honor to be given another Urian as the award giving body gave her, her first acting trophy for “Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos” in 1976.

Here’s the complete list of winners at the 36th Gawad Urian:

Best Film: “Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim”
Best Director: Adolfo Alix (“Mater Dolorosa”)
Best Actress: Nora Aunor (“Thy Womb”)
Best Actor: Jericho Rosales (“Alagwa”)
Best Supporting Actress: Alessandra de Rossi (“Sta. Niña”)
Best Supporting Actor: Art Acuna (“Posas”)
Best in Cinematography: Whammy Alcazaren and Sasha Palomares (“Colossal”)
Best in Screenplay: Mes de Guzman (“Diablo”)
Best Short Film: Remton Zuasola (“Ritmo”)
Best Documentary: Benito Bautista (“Harana”)
Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza (“Thy Womb”)
Best Editing: Aleks Castañeda (“Kalayaan”)
Best Sound: Willy Fernandez, Bong Sungcang & Ferdinand Marcos Sabarongis (“Florentina Hubaldo”)
Best Music: Diwa de Leon (“Baybayin”)

Also during the awards night, seasoned actress Mila Del Sol was given the “Natatanging Gawad Urian” title for her contributions in the field of cinema.

Del Sol top billed films like “Giliw Ko,” “Orasang Ginto,” “Sawing Gantimpala,” “Tatlong Magdalena,” and “Lupang Pangako”, among others.

The event was hosted by Xian Lim, Iza Calzado, Richard Gomez and Cheri Gil. (MNS)