Los Angeles – Ten Outstanding Filipino-American Senior Students (TOFASS)from various high schools in Greater  Los Angeles have been selected by a five panel judges for 2012.This was announced by Tony N. Amon, overall  chair of the TOFASS Search and Dan E. Nino, chair of the Screening Committee and Media Relations, APOGLA President Emma Rubina-Galang and APOGLA Board Chairman Eric Serrano.

The five male and five female awardees will be honored on Oct. 13 (Saturday) at 6:00 p.m. at the CBS Studio Center, 4024 Radford Ave., Studio City for their outstanding scholastic achievements  and academic excellence during their high school years. They will receive their  supplementalscholarship grants and plaques of recognition.

Now on its second year, TOFASS is another service project of Alpha Phi Omega (Philippines) Greater Los Angeles in partnership with  Kababayan L.A. –KSI Channel 18 and 19th Tee Golf Club.

This year’s  crème of the crop include Althea May Alquitran of Narbonne High School who is now enrolled at UCLA, Louie Kristina Angeles of Mayfair High School (Cal State of Long Beach), Neil Joachim Borja of North Hollywood Highly Gifted Magnet School (Massachusetts  Institute of Technology); Jocelyn Kate Castro of Mendez Learning Center  (UCLA); Elisha Charnel Marquez of Eagle Rock High School (Stanford University);

 Rae Adrian Obnimaga of Los Angeles School of Global Studies (Cal State, Long Beach); Dawn A. Rice of Mayfair High School (UC Davis); Justin N. Sao of Benjamin Franklin High School (Stanford University); Albert Francis Tan of North Hollywood High School Cal State, Northridge) and Frederick Jan Velez of Los Angeles School of Global Studies (L.A. Valley College).

Former  mayor and current  Artesia Councilman Victor Manalo, Ph. D., will deliver the inspirational remarks. Councilman Manalo is also a professor at Cal State of Los Angeles in Social Work in both undergraduate and graduate schools.

Scores ofnominees were recommended by the schools principals and counselors and were thoroughly  reviewed  by a five panel of judges namely: ABC School Board Member Lynda Johnson, journalist  Mylah De Leon, Transportation Commissioner of Buena Park Felix B. Lopez, Immigration Ylawyer Mel G. Oxciano and journalist Lydia V. Solis.

Interested parties who wish to witness this historic event of student achievers can contact Ophel V. Amon at 818-970-4614 or ophelvitaamon@yahoo.com; Oyet Mejia @ 925-964-5078 or lolitamejia@verizon.net and Precy Marte @ 909-492-0957 or sweetprecyheart@yahoo.com. You can also visit our website:  tofass.alphaphiomega.org



For more  Fil-Am News click here.

About the Author

Related Posts