By Edwin P. Sallan

Ryan Agoncillo  - TV5 Host , Talentadong Pinoy

Ryan Agoncillo – TV5 Host , Talentadong Pinoy

Two top-rated series of TV5 and two Kapatid talents were honored at the 10th Golden Screen Awards held at Teatrino in Greenhills last March 1.

Mult-awarded reality talent show “Talentadong Pinoy” was the hands down winner for Original Reality Competition Program award, beating ABS-CBN’s “I Dare You”, GMA’s “Protégé: The Battle For The Big Artista Break” and “Inside Protégé”, as well as its own offshoot show, “Talentadong Pinoy Kids”.

“Valiente”, TV5’s remake of the five-year epic drama series of the same title, took home the trophy for Outstanding Adapted Drama series, besting GMA’s “Ikaw Lang Ang Mamahalin”, ABS-CBN’s “Maria La del Barrio” and another TV5 remake, “Ang Utol Kong Hoodlum”.

TV5 Princess Jasmine Curtis-Smith, star of “Ang Utol Kong Hoodlum”, won Outstanding Breakthrough Performance by an Actress over Janine Gutierrez for GMA’s “Makapiling Kang Muli”, Myrtle Sarrosa for ABS-CBN’s “Toda Max” and Venus Raj for ABS-CBN’s Maalaala Mo Kaya: “Korona”.

Another surprise winner is Sylvia Sanchez, who won Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Single Drama/Telemovie Program for her performance in “Untold Stories: Kahit Ako’y Mangmang beating a formidable field of nominees that are composed of Anita Linda for TV5’s True Confession:“Ang Nawawalang Pag-ibig”, Angel Aquino for ABS-CBN’s “Maalaala Mo Kaya: Manika”, Gina Pareño for ABS-CBN’s “Maalaala Mo Kaya: Sapatos”, Iza Calzado for ABS-CBN’s “Maalaala Mo Kaya: Cross Stitch”, Jane Oineza for ABS-CBN’s “Maalaala Mo Kaya: Manika” and Maricel Soriano for TV5’s “Untold Stories: Baldadong Puso”.

Although “TalentadongPinoy” host Ryan Agoncillo lost the Outstanding Original Reality Competition Program Host award to Dingdong Dantes, who won it for “Protégé”, the former still snagged the Outstanding Male Host in a Musical or Variety Program for his work in GMA’s “Eat Bulaga”.

Screen legend Eddie Garcia was also honored with the Ulirang Alagadng Sining award. The veteran actor, a mainstay of TV5’s “Third Eye”, also won accolades for his performance in “Bwakaw”, the Philippine entry to the Oscars that came the closest to clinching a nomination slot for the Best Foreign Language category this year.

The other special awardees this year were Gloria Romero, Nova Villa and Mel Tiangco who all received the Helen Vela Lifetime Achievement Award for drama, comedy and broadcasting respectively.

Now on its 9th year, The Golden Screen Awards (GSA) is given annually by the Entertainment Press Society (ENPRESS), Inc. to deserving films, actors and technical people.